Season 2017-2018

The resume of my season! This year I have seen a lot of matches: with 46 games I have unintentionally broke my record.

On the 27th of july my season kicked-off with the Europa League qualifying: FC Utrecht – Lech Poznan. One week later I took the plane to Poland for the first foreign trip! I visited five matches: Ruch Chorzow, GKS Tychy, LKS Lodz, the derby of Krakow and Gornik Zabrze. Especially Gornik Zabrze has been on my list for a long time.

011ffab666291a108ea8f52e1d2c6abaf4faef127c
A lot of pyro (Tychy – Cracovia, 09-08-2017)

Two weeks later I made the impulsive decision to make another trip. I have never been to Slovakia, so this country was full of surprises. Slovakia is full of nature and lovely old cities. I’m definetly going back to Slovakia one day. I saw two entertaining games: on the first day Zilina against Spartak Trnava with a great ambiance from both sides. The second one found place in Nitra, where promoted team FC Nitra – at that time the leader of de league – played against the runner-up DAC. Štadión pod Zoborom is more than 100 years old, but still great. Summary of the stadium: mountains in the back, old school terraces and one great main stand. For me the Stadion pod Zoborom got all the ingredients to be a great one! And to make it complete: for only 3€ I have visited this game.

01c0a365b3875f533e944bd543d95dc7765843bcec
Zilina – Spartak Trnava (25-08-2017)

In october, november and december it was just a little less, but the season still had a lot of months to go. I visited Belgium for the first time with games of Anderlecht and Lierse. Sad to read Lierse has been dissolved. Great old school atmosphere and so is the stadium. Their fans deserve more!

Saw some games in The Netherlands, like the derby FC Oss against Den Bosch and an Europa League game of Vitesse. I saw Go Ahead Eagles playing a horrible game in one of the most beautiful stadiums of The Netherlands: it was worth it. Highlighted for me these months is the game of NAC against Twente. A decent atmosphere and an attractive game.

In 2018 I continued with a lot of games. Like many times this season I used the mid-weeks program to visit some games. I visited Sparta (great stadium) and three days later I made a trip to the other side of the country to see FC Emmen. It was cold and the game wasn’t that good, but allright; we’ve been there! Ten days after De Klassieker I saw a stunning game in the Dutch cup: Feyenoord defeated PSV. A lot of firework in the home stands!

In february I got the highlight of my life in my mind, but I think many of you already know what happened at PAOK – Olympiakos. What seemed to be the greatest game in decades, ended up in a disaster. I didn’t see one minute of football. In a few years going back to Thessaloniki for a second chance!

014ba46f98c8a88ec692540bad36d07c24d9bd2492
PAOK – Olympiakos (25-02-2018)

This wasn’t the only disappointment. Back in Holland, the derby Fortuna Sittard – MVV has been called off because of the snow. They moved the match to monday and luckily this was possible for me. A few weeks later I saw in Nijmegen a great game and visited AZ for the third time of the season, after the matches against Ajax and Heracles. On the 18th of april I went to Willem II – Feyenoord, but the terrace in Tilburg was more pleasant.. Expected more of the home team.

On the 22th of april I participated at one of the greatest games of this season: the Dutch Cupfinal! AZ and Feyenoord met each other and showed us a lot of fireworks. A lot of noise during this game: a final in De Kuip always works well.

01f15b57a0c2f8c7754aab9fe368f4c29440d2bac7
The final of the Dutch cup (AZ – Feyenoord, 22-04-2018)

In may I realized I had only three games to go. The regular season has already been finished. FC Dordrecht made it to the play-offs of the Jupiler League. The most goals were made in one of the last games this season. My second visit at ADO Den Haag (against Vitesse) ended up with seven goals: 2-5. Personally I saw just six goals, because of the ridiculous queues at the catering.. The closing match of this season found place in IJmuiden: Telstar reached the play-offs of the Jupiler League and drew their friends of De Graafschap. It was a fantastic happening: a sold out game, two red cards, a lot of goals and pyro. A great way to finish a magnificent season!

0133508ad4f126c903954adc5a13cc9d09192592a3
Graffiti inside the Cars Jeans Stadium (ADO – Vitesse, 09-05-2018)

 

To see an overview of all matches, I refer you to the summary of the 2017-2018 season.

Other links:

Plaats een reactie